Friday, June 15, 2012

Back to the book

Though I have made it very clear that my Shattered Sky campaign is a hearty mix of BX rules and Pathfinder sensibilities, it is probably the following section that begins to put this truly into perspective for the player.

Yes - that is a character sheet written on an index card. Other stuff can be put on the back.


Charts and Tables

The tables given for character abilities, experience, and special class abilities are all presented as close to the D&D Basic rules format as possible. In one small departure, alternating tinted rows have been added to improve ease of reading.

It is worth noting that demi-human classes may rise to 14th level just as their human counterparts. The character classes are balanced internally against each other without the need for artificial level limits.

Level Titles

While Shattered Sky does not use official level titles, a player is welcome to call their player character whatever they like. This writer simply dislikes and disagrees with the majority of the titles given in the rules.

For the purpose of "name level" references, this is the 9th level of experience in every case.

Character Abilities

Roll 4d6 for each ability score and discard the lowest die. Add the remaining three die rolls and apply to any ability desired, in any order, until all six ability scores have been determined.

Ability Prime Requisites

There are none. No class or race requires a minimum score in any one ability. Yes, you can run a weakling fighter or a clumsy thief. You do not receive bonus experience points for having high ability scores - you receive advantages to relevant die rolls and enjoy a potentially more successful character. Those are your bonuses.

Ability Score Adjustments

Ability scores may not be lowered to raise another. If you roll an untenable character, start from scratch and roll another.

Minimum Ability Scores

No player character is required to have any minimum ability score to qualify for a specific class or race. You may run a feeble dwarf or clumsy halfling, just as you are permitted to play a foolish cleric or stupid magic-user. Not every dwarf is of above-average Strength, not even an adventuring dwarf.

Hit Points and Hit Dice

A player character receives the maximum hit points for his or her hit die at first level. Hit points are rolled normally thereafter.

To reflect their intended roles during an adventure, some classes will have a higher hit die than given in the original books. These adjusted hit dice will be listed in the COMBAT TRAITS of the class in question.

Darkvision and Nightvision

Some demi-human races possess the ability to see in the dark or the gloom. Shattered Sky makes no effort to explain why this is so and does not use the concept of infravision.

Darkvision is the ability to see in the dark - like infravision, but without the "infra." Not seeing heat, but simply seeing in the dark - usually in black-and-white, unless noted otherwise. For example, dwarves have darkvision up to 60'.

Nightvision is the ability to see further in dim or gloomy surroundings. Some illumination is required and a character with nightvision can see twice is far in conditions of less than full daylight, allowing full vision up to 60' in torchlight, for example. Note that elves have nightvision - not darkvision.

Some bizarre or otherwise alien monsters may have true infravision. That is the prerogative of the DM.


Upon gaining 9th level, any character can invest in the construction of a castle (clerics and fighters), stronghold (dwarf, elf, or halfling), tower (magic-user), or hideout (thief). See p. SS# for details regarding details of construction.


  1. Love the card layout...I wish I would of thought of something like that when playing way back when :)

  2. Thank you. I recall "playing way back when" with great fondness.